DEV Community

Cover image for Commitment dread: what keeps me hyper motivated
icncsx
icncsx

Posted on • Updated on

Commitment dread: what keeps me hyper motivated

Commitment Dread

Let me preface by saying that I hate owing people anything - especially money - which is why I dread unemployment. Being unemployed means that I don't owe anything, and sometimes you need to feel indebted to get sh** done.

When I left my job...

I had tons of cool ideas and side projects I wanted to try out. But through the course of incubating my various startup ideas, I got incredibly lazy on many occasions, and I stopped shipping anything.

But then things changed when I took on paid projects. I felt uncomfortable. I owed someone. This newfound energy from debtorship transferred to my personal projects, and I started to push things again.

In an ideal world...

We wouldn't need to rely on external motivation. But sometimes we just do, and I argue that owing someone is the best way to recharge and start living actively again.

What do you do to keep yourself motivated?

Warmly,
DH

Top comments (0)