DEV Community

Cover image for Writing more Clojure docs in the future
icncsx
icncsx

Posted on • Updated on

Writing more Clojure docs in the future

Whenever I start a project, I ask myself this question: "Am I bringing something new to the table." I'm trying to bring the same thought process to blogging.

When I joined Dev.to in April, I came into the platform with the conviction that I would blog about Vue and React. Then I struggled - not because of a lack of interest or effect but because there were too many excellent articles in existence.

What new thing would I bring to the table? Nothing. At the very least - junk. And at the very most (is that even a term), I would bring something that is highly derivative.

So why Clojure?

Here's where Clojure comes into play. It's still incredibly niche, and there's not a lot of beginner friendly resources out there. My friend told me something funny the other day.

You know you're kind of a unicorn in the Clojure space because there are no junior Clojure developers. Every Clojure developer was a senior Java developer who slowly introduced Clojure at work.

Neither of us have the statistic, but it seems true. Most Clojure job postings I've seen have a pretty high bar, and most of them did use Java in the past.

Anyways, all of that to say that I am going to write more Clojure related blog posts because it's a language that's niche enough where I feel like I can actually contribute to its growth and popularity.

PS: Sometimes it's fun to take the road less taken, and that's why I started to learn Clojure.

Warmly,
DH

Top comments (0)