DEV Community

Ifeoluwa
Ifeoluwa

Posted on

Are JavaScript Libraries Getting Out of Hand?

How many libraries are there?

As of the time of this post npm hosts over 2 million packages and a high percent of these are JavaScript libraries. So you can say there are millions of packages.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about how many JavaScript libraries and packages are out there and... it’s a lot. Every time I turn around, there’s a new one, whether it’s for state management, animations, or even just handling form inputs. It’s almost overwhelming!

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good library as much as the next developer, but at this point, I sometimes wonder: do we need all of them? Some solve problems in such niche ways that it feels like we’re drowning in options.

So here’s my question: Do you feel like the number of JS libraries has gotten out of hand, or is it just me? What’s your go-to library, and how do you manage keeping up with the latest trends?

Let’s talk about it—drop your thoughts below!

Top comments (0)