DEV Community

Cover image for Advice for a fresh starter
KateYoung
KateYoung

Posted on • Updated on

Advice for a fresh starter

With almighty God's blessing, I recently got an offer as junior programmer, so I asked my mentor for advice on how to better mentally prepared in a workplace.

From my mentor:

Right Mindset
Realizing you're going to mess up in the beginning, you're going to be terrible, you're going to do a lot of stupid stuff and that's OK, you're there to learn, so learn. don't stop learning. don't stop learning once you get the answer, learn more.

You'll need to figure out what works for you. Sometimes it's more efficient when you have a concrete goal.

Ask
Nobody expects you to know everything or anything really.. but they need you to tell them when you're stuck.
So if you work on a task, try to figure it out on your own. If you can't make progress for a day, go ask for help.

Never end up in a situation where you wasted 3 days trying to do someting without asking for help or telling someone you're stuck.

The best format is "I'm trying to do X because I need to do Y. I tried to do Z and T but it didn't work. I looked on the web and read through the documentation but I don't know where to go from here".

Tell them what you want, tell them why you want it, tell them what you tried and show them that you did some work to figure it out already.

I'd add one: confront the dragon,slay it!ʕ•́ᴥ•̀ʔっ

Top comments (0)