DEV Community

Jaime Panaia-Rodi
Jaime Panaia-Rodi

Posted on • Updated on

REACTivating

I took an in-person React class with a few co-workers back in 2017. It was winter, the classroom was poorly insulated, and I was a few months pregnant so I was fighting through some distracting abdominal pains. My JavaScript skills were lacking so lots of it didn't sink in. For my final project I attempted to build a game (lofty goal!): Munchkin Loot Letter. It's a very simple card game but when I tried to translate it into code I became lost in all the logic! Needless to say, the app was a flop and never really got off the ground. I tend to love (and get caught up in) styling but when it comes to making things function I get frustrated and give up.

My goal after completing Scrimba's Learn React for Free and The React Bootcamp courses is to actually build this game. I want to impress myself and my wife who is a fellow Munchkin Loot Letter aficionado!

I'm about halfway through the free React course and I'm really enjoying it. I've got a bug in my To Do List App but I'm moving on and hoping I can come back to it later!

Next day update: I fixed the bug! It was a one character error. I was returning "todo" instead of "todos!" Ahhhh! So relieved to have figured it out.

Top comments (0)