DEV Community

Inderpreet Singh Parmar
Inderpreet Singh Parmar

Posted on

Refactoring and Git Rebase for Tailor4Job

Introduction
As part of my open-source development course, I undertook Lab 5, which focused on refactoring my 0.1 Release project, Tailor4Job. This process involved improving the code's structure, readability, and maintainability. Additionally, I had to practice using Git to rebase, squash commits, and update the commit history.


Refactoring Improvements

Refactoring is an essential part of maintaining any codebase, particularly as new features are added and technical debt starts to accumulate. In this lab, I focused on the following improvements for the Tailor4Job project:

  1. Encapsulation of Repetitive Code:
    I encapsulated the model and provider processing logic into a new function called process_model_provider. This removed code duplication across multiple sections of the code and made future modifications easier.

  2. Improved Naming Conventions:
    One of the critical changes I made was renaming ambiguous variables to better reflect their purpose. For example, I changed generic names like data to more descriptive names, which made the code easier to follow.

  3. Separation of Concerns:
    I also worked on separating different functionalities into distinct functions and classes. For example, I moved API key handling to its function (get_api_key), improving modularity and making the code more maintainable.


Git Rebase and Squashing Commits

One of the most valuable parts of this lab was learning how to rewrite Git history by squashing multiple commits into a single cohesive one. Hereโ€™s how I approached it:

  1. Created a Refactoring Branch: I started by creating a new branch called refactoring, which allowed me to make changes without affecting the main branch.
   git checkout -b refactoring
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  1. Made Multiple Commits: As I refactored the code, I made individual commits for each improvement, such as:
  • Refactored code logic
  • Encapsulated model and provider processing
  1. Squashed Commits Using Git Rebase: After completing my refactor, I squashed all the refactoring commits into a single commit using Git's interactive rebase feature:
   git rebase main -i
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

In the interactive rebase, I combined all the changes into one cohesive commit message.


Challenges Faced During Refactoring

  • Module Import Error: One of the challenges I faced was a ModuleNotFoundError related to the groq package. This error delayed the testing of the refactored code. After installing the necessary dependencies and fixing the module imports, I was able to run the project smoothly.

Final Steps and Merging

Once I was satisfied with the refactoring and squash rebase, I merged the refactoring branch into main using a fast-forward merge:

git merge --ff-only refactoring
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Finally, I pushed the changes to the remote GitHub repository:

git push origin main
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Conclusion

Refactoring the code for Tailor4Job not only improved its maintainability and readability but also helped me gain valuable experience using Git rebase and commit squashing. These tools are powerful for managing a clean and understandable commit history in any project.


This lab has enhanced my understanding of writing clean code and managing Git history effectively, which are both crucial skills in open-source development.

Top comments (0)