DEV Community

Cover image for My Goals for Joining HNG i8
Obonguko
Obonguko

Posted on

My Goals for Joining HNG i8

My name is Iniubong Obonguko, a Frontend developer and a Technical writer proficient in HTML, CSS, Javascript and Vue js.

I'm currently enrolled in the HNG i8 Internship which is a program designed to level up those who have learnt how to code or design but have no real world experience. This program simulates the real world tech work experience by teaching teamwork, working with deadlines and grit among other valuable real world skills.

I got excited when I saw that applications for this year's batch had been opened up as I was enrolled in the last year's cohort but didn't make it to the final stage due to a bunch of factors beyond my control.

My Goals for Joining this year are:

  • Build my Network: In the real world, your network is your networt.This is why making new friends in this program is key, because I'd get to work alongside people I wouldn't get to meet on my own and maybe leverage on their own network as they leverage on mine.

  • Learn to work in a Team: I've never really done a lot of work in a team scenario before so working with a lot of people would give me a chance to work on building that part of skillset as this is a norm in the real world.

  • Have Fun:Life doesn't have to be serious all the time, which is why part of my goals is just to have fun while being enrolled in this internship.

  • Land better Roles: I joined this internship with the aim of finishing and at the end become better at what I currently do.
    I hope to land better roles at the end of this because I believe strongly that after this internship my skills would definitely better.

Links to Resources for Beginners

Top comments (0)