DEV Community

Cover image for The one about 'breaking down' - WEEK 11
iqraraza
iqraraza

Posted on • Updated on

The one about 'breaking down' - WEEK 11

Week 11. The week I will NEVER ever forget.

As expected, the week began with the solo project for Frontend. I used HTTP requests using react to interact with my Backend project and HTTP response codes to update my UI accordingly.

Lectures were delivered to help scalability and reuse of code using React hooks. I used Figma to help plan the project and so I thought everything was going well...

Wednesday hit and it hit hard. I struggled to form any kind of logic with my project. I had my components all set up, added some functionality with a couple of GET requests, played around with the styling and then everything got a little too much.

It was a difficult week, as almost everything that could have happened, HAPPENED !

Kid's school trips, assemblies, end of year exams, parent's evening and so on all happened this week. The house project resumed with 101 unresolved issues from re-wiring the whole house to plumbing issues. Alongside Eid preparations for the following week with the dreaded PMS. Appointments, family drama and all the rest of it all happened this week.

I reached out to a Northcoders tutor about some concerns with the upcoming project phase and so the call ended up being a half hour counselling session. I truly and finally had reached breaking point. The tutor was brilliant and identified that I'm 'mentally exhausted'. My body was shutting down on me as I felt like I'd been run over by a train and it was not over yet.

I had a review on my project which wasn't as bad as I thought considering how I was taking steps, day by day, hour by hour.

The weekend was hot and NOT relaxing. We had a family (more like 'tribal') BBQ at my mums then decided to take the kids to the beach on Sunday, which resulted in standing on the M60 with three kids, as our car broke down.

I had reached the pinnacle.

Top comments (0)