DEV Community

Cover image for Tech I am learning in 2024
ishar19
ishar19

Posted on • Updated on

Tech I am learning in 2024

Starting of 2024, I decided to learn some other technologies which is not JS, as I am particularly comfortable with JS, I wanted to explore and learn more.

Here are 5 pieces of technology I am learning this year

Golang

Coming from JS land, Go feels like a breeze of air with it’s error handling and particulary neat syntax and well crafted conventions about structuring code.

My curiosity of discovering about what goes on scalable backend system push me towards backend, moreover I wanna tap into that concurrency shaolin chamber everyone’s been talking about.

Operating System

Thanks to cpu.land , I grew an uncanny interest in how cpu works and got me deep into operating systems from there, it’s fascinating to see the deep down of your computer to the levels of registers and ALUs(arithmetic logical units). Nand2tetris and OSTEP is the greatest resource for starting with operating systems.

During this, it will force me to tackle C and Assembly in the process, hope i survive.

Typescript

Been deep into JS land for more than an year and still not using types extensively, being fed up of my dart and golang friends teasing me about types, so here is me finding my “type” ;

I will finally be type complete, the holy grail of javascript ecosystem.

Networking and Devops

Enough of mugging up 7 OSI layers and not understanding what any of this means, here is me trying to become a bash king and terminal wizard. Gotta deploy those docker containers so that it doesn’t work on only my computer but everywhere.

Learning my IDE

It’s never bad time to brush-up some hotkeys and be one with your ide become neo of the matrix.

I use VSCode and have no intentions of switching to anything in near future.

That’s all, that’s how i am spending my 2024. Beating the FOMO of AI stuff was tough in this but let me take a chance on what i find interesting.

Top comments (0)