DEV Community

Cover image for Fun Testing Challenge bypass html 5 validations
isolderea
isolderea

Posted on

Fun Testing Challenge bypass html 5 validations

Solving testing riddles or challenges is fun if you are a tester or an IT enthusiast.
In this article I want to see how we can solve the below challenge
What do we need to do
Visit : http://testingchallenges.thetestingmap.org/challenge2.php

What is the challenge?
We have a field on the page that has a html5 validation.
The field only accepts integers.
We need to make it accept somenthing else.
I have also made a video about the process that you can check out. However I would recommend before viewing the video to try and solve it yourself.

Try 1 - Entering data from the keyboard
Just to make sure that there are no blufs from the creator of the challenge I wanted to try the following input from the keyboard
Letters
Special characters
Copy pasting into the field

No luck. So we need to try somenthing else.

Try2 - Injecting input
Since entering data did not seem to work I was thinking I could try and inject values in the input with the help of Bug Magnet.

Image description

No luck again. Only integers were allowed

Try3 - Going under the hood
Having pretty much tried what I wanted to try on the frontend I decided to open the developer tools and see how the input is configured.
The first thing that caught my eye was the type of the field. It had a type of number.

Image description
Image description

I was in luck. This solved the challenge
I hope you had fun with the challenge. Now this is not the only way to solve this challenge. Comment how you solved it. Comment if you have questions.

Check the video and the other article for more interesting content.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuHQ4CJElEk&ab_channel=ResterTest

Top comments (0)