DEV Community

Janardhan Pulivarthi
Janardhan Pulivarthi

Posted on • Updated on

Dev.to Etiquette

I am considering the dev.to platform might help me learn and progress as a programmer. I would perhaps spend about 400 hours in my lifetime, so it would be worth considering how I will be interacting on this platform.

How are you using dev.to? 😊

Heart or Unicorn

💖 - If the article is well written
🦄 - Original thought of the author or you just feel like giving Unicorn
🔖 - Read later or Future reference

Few citizen tips

  1. If someone follows me, follow them back
  2. See comments in a positive light, if you can't take time to think through to respond

Do

  1. Follow a few tags relevant to my interest scope
  2. Write regularly and try to chase insight, not clout
  3. Write the topic that I, myself would read or found helpful
  4. Regularly choose and read articles that complement your work
  5. Treat dev.to as a support for learning a tech stack

Don't

  1. Expect the immediate attention
  2. Write very long articles
  3. Binge read articles
  4. Take pressure to publish often
  5. Worry other people publishing really cool content

Cons

  1. Adding anxiety and how many people watched my posts.
  2. In case I have some free time, I tend to ruminate over article stats again and again

References

  1. https://every.to/letter
  2. Show your Work! by Austin Kleon
  3. https://dev.to/4lch4/whats-with-the---4bdg

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
mrdulin profile image
official_dulin • Edited

I added a new button to dev.to - Mark As Read

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper

Nice post, it's good to think about how you're going to use a resource and community space, and to find some "ground rules" for yourself. I'm trying to use DEV for learning, networking, and also keeping my technical content together (I also write on Medium, and on my own site). One of my coworkers asked me the other day what the unicorn is for, and I explained that, according to what I've seen, it is more of an open reaction that you can choose to use to signify whatever you like - good to understand what that means, for you!

I definitely would try not to worry too much about writing too often, or about the stats. Taking part in the community broadly, finding topics that you want to engage with, asking questions, and commenting, is just as useful. Write about things you've learned, and things you've found useful.

Collapse
 
j143 profile image
Janardhan Pulivarthi

I'm trying to use DEV for learning, networking, and also keeping my technical content together

+1

I definitely would try not to worry too much about writing too often, or about the stats.

Thanks. I will worry less now.

Taking part in the community broadly, finding topics that you want to engage with, asking questions, and commenting, is just as useful.

Great.