DEV Community

Brendon
Brendon

Posted on

First Hackathon Experience

So, close to the beginning of my bootcamp tenure, I was introduced to the idea of a Hackathon. A group of people that come together to help create and deploy a website or app as a collaborative effort. Everyone bringing their own individual skill sets to the table and contributing where they can. Although this idea sounded fascinating to me, I have also been highly intimidated by participating in one. When it comes to the world of software development, I feel so incredibly inadequate. Yes, I have always been told about the power of Imposter Syndrome ever since beginning my programming path, but I really do feel like I know nothing useful. Sure, I can put together simple concepts and follow along with what other coders are doing. Definitely have done a few dozen instructional videos, but it still left me feeling like I was in Tutorial Hell. But what could I contribute to an entire team of other programmers when it comes to building a website?!

Despite all my fears, about a month ago, I stumbled upon a posting for a Hackathon taking place in the middle of Nov, 2022. Not really having a clue how one works, I decided to take the plunge and signed up to attend. The week finally arrived, and the remote introductory meeting launched. But, what did I do??? I didn't even attend! I chickened out and instead spent hours talking to myself as to why I wouldn't be able to join. However, those few hours, I wrestled with my emotions and eventually, came around and convinced myself to at least reach out to team project members and see if I could just pop my head in and get to see what the organization structure was. I was warmly welcomed to the program and assigned into a group project.

I had a 1 on 1 meeting with one of the team members, and became a bit familiar with the idea of what they wanted to accomplish. However, I also let them know that I could not commit to being very useful or take on much in this whole process. That I had taken a bootcamp a year ago, but my skills were not very well developed. I was assured that wasn't a problem, and if all I wanted to do was to watch and smile with a few comments here and there, that would also be more than welcome. I met the other 3 members of the team and listened as they discussed the way they feel things should be organized out and what they can work on. Some were assigned Frontend or Backend tasks, while others were in charge of presentations and a mock-up of what we would build. I sat quietly and barely said a word... We ended that day and arranged to meet the next morning to check in with were everyone was.

That night, I busied myself with personal study. One thing for sure, I was more motivated to really dive into new topics that I wanted to learn. I felt so useless in my skills, but knew that I just needed to focus. Ended the night thinking that, even though I couldn't really add much to the project, at least I could take another chunk of knowledge on my own and digest it.

The next day, I totally ghosted the group meet up. I felt that they would be better off without me. Half way through the day however, I began feeling really guilty and decided I really should check in and thank everyone for the opportunity to become involved. That's when every changed for me. Only then, did I realize that most of the group felt the same way that I did. No one really knew how to proceed and even start the project in any forward direction. My courage slowly building, I threw out ideas and things that I COULD do. I have HTML/CSS and JavaScript knowledge and could at least build up a layout page. Perhaps I can do this after all!

The more I focused on the things I could do, the less my fear became. Over the following 2 days, I had built up a webpage and presentation that I could be proud of. I had Frontend skills, even though I didn't know the backend side of things. Continue to do the things I could, and when I hit obstacles, I would google and search for solutions. What happened was a complete transition to the team members looking to me for help and understanding and I in turn was helping them!!! By the end of the Hackathon, we had at least a functional project that we could present, and I had grown as a person WAY MORE THAN I EVER IMAGINED I WOULD all within a short few days. Only being a little sleep deprived :-P

Attending this Hackathon was monumental for me in confidence building, skills enhancing, team camaraderie and overall practice of what work will be like in the future! I’m actually a bit in awe at my own accomplishments lol!!! Really didn’t think I was going to be able to figure so many things out in time. Although, when groups presented their final works that took place today, it was quite noticeable that their websites/mobile apps were far more professional looking and polished than my own, I also recognize that they have multiple years and hackathons under their belt already. This is a journey for me! And at least for now, I can hold my head up high and be proud of my accomplishments!

https://cityneighborhoodproject.netlify.app/

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jd2r profile image
DR

Thanks so much for sharing! Brings back memories of my first hackathon back in August. Half the time was spent arguing about what languages we were going to use - I swear by JS, and one of my other team members wanted to do Python. We ended up building the app with Python and also making a website to advertise it.

I think it's super valuable to do one of these for many reasons, but most importantly because you learn how to work with other people. Too often we're comfortable writing in our own styles and having our own ways of doing things, and having other people there with different opinions really helps open up your horizons.