DEV Community

Cover image for Reflections on Failing the AZ-104 Microsoft Azure Certification Exam
james789
james789

Posted on

Reflections on Failing the AZ-104 Microsoft Azure Certification Exam

Introduction:

Last week marked my first attempt at the Microsoft certification exam AZ-104: Developing Solutions for Microsoft Azure, and I must admit, it didn't go as planned. As I reflect on this experience, I realize the valuable lessons it brought to light about time management, priorities, and the true cost of seemingly "free" opportunities.

The Decision-Making Process:

In June, I participated in the Azure Developer Challenge, a seemingly straightforward path to earning a voucher for a Microsoft Certification exam. Eager to capitalize on this chance, I chose the AZ-104 exam, thinking it would be a logical and "easy" option. However, this decision led to a series of realizations about the importance of carefully evaluating commitments and understanding the true cost of seemingly complimentary opportunities.

Balancing Priorities and Learning to Say No:

Acknowledging the tendency to spread myself too thin, I recognized the need to prioritize tasks that align with my goals. Balancing exam preparation with other crucial aspects of life, such as interviews, personal well-being, and family time, became imperative. Learning to say no and committing only to endeavors that align with my capabilities and objectives emerged as a key takeaway.

Exam Preparations and Procrastination:

As I prioritized other commitments over exam preparation, I found myself procrastinating, pushing the exam date from June to December. The lack of consistent study efforts became apparent on the day of the exam, leading to a last-minute review of old exam questions. This approach proved inadequate, emphasizing the importance of consistent and thorough preparation.

Insights into the AZ-104 Exam:

The AZ-104 exam, designed for software developers and cloud engineers, presents a challenging set of 40–60 questions within a 120-minute timeframe. The diverse question types, ranging from use-case scenarios to programming codes, require a comprehensive understanding of development with Microsoft Azure. Achieving a passing score of 700 out of 1000 demands 1–2 years of hands-on experience.

Taking the Exam at Home (Proctored):

For those considering the AZ-104 exam, taking it at home requires meticulous preparation. Technical requirements, check-in procedures, and adherence to test environment guidelines are crucial. Understanding what is prohibited during the exam, such as speaking or using headphones, is essential for a smooth testing experience.

The Cost of "Free":

Initially considering the exam as a free opportunity, a conversation with my friend Carol shifted my perspective. She wisely pointed out that my time is valuable, and by dedicating time to exam preparation, I was, in essence, paying for it with hours that could be invested elsewhere. This insight prompted me to reassess my priorities and recognize that some pursuits, no matter how enticing, might not align with my immediate goals.

Recommendations for Exam Takers:

To successfully navigate the certification process, individuals should carefully decide on the exam, consider whether to take it online or at a testing center, and schedule the exam via the Microsoft Learn Certification Website. Leveraging employer partnerships for free training and exam opportunities is also a valuable option. The article emphasizes the significance of dedicated study time and encourages exam takers to utilize freely available resources.

Balancing Act:

Acknowledging that I often tend to take on too much, I understood the need to learn how to say no and commit only to endeavors that truly matter. Prioritizing activities such as preparing for upcoming interviews, tackling my to-do list, creating content, spending time with loved ones, and safeguarding my mental health became more crucial than pursuing a certification that might not significantly impact my current endeavors.

Exam Preparation:

As the exam deadline loomed closer, I found myself consistently postponing my preparation. Ultimately, I allocated minimal time to study, cramming on the day of the exam. Relying on older exam questions from Exam Topics, a helpful resource for understanding formats and question types, proved insufficient for success.

Insights into the Exam:

The AZ-104 exam posed a significant challenge with a duration of 120 minutes and 40–60 random questions covering various scenarios, programming codes, true/false statements, and more. The passing score of 700 out of 1000 indicated the technical depth expected of software developers or cloud engineers with 1–2 years of experience. Additionally, taking the exam at home required meticulous adherence to technical requirements and a clutter-free testing space.

Exam-Labs.com is a valuable resource for individuals preparing for certification exams, offering a comprehensive platform that includes a variety of study materials and practice tests. Specifically relevant to the AZ-104: Developing Solutions for Microsoft Azure exam, Exam-Labs provides a curated collection of exam questions, simulations, and detailed explanations to help candidates gauge their readiness. With a user-friendly interface and a focus on real-world scenarios, Exam-Labs serves as a practical tool for those looking to reinforce their knowledge and skills in Azure development. The platform's commitment to providing up-to-date and accurate content aligns with the technical nature of the AZ-104 exam, making it a useful companion for candidates seeking success in this challenging certification journey.

Guidance for Future Test-Takers:

For those considering this certification journey, careful planning is essential. Decide between online proctored or testing center options, check your schedule, and book the exam via the Microsoft Learn Certification Website. Consider exploring whether your company or employer, especially if a Microsoft Partner, offers free exams and training through partnerships. Once booked, dedicate focused time to study and leverage free online resources rather than spending on exam questions.

Why I Chose the AZ-104 Exam:

Upon completing the Azure Developer Challenge, I was presented with the opportunity to select from a limited set of certification exams, among which I chose the AZ-104: Developing Solutions for Microsoft Azure. The decision was based on its perceived ease and logical fit for my skill set, despite being geared towards more experienced developers.

The True Cost of "Free":

Initially viewing the exam as a complimentary opportunity, I had an eye-opening conversation with a friend, Carol, who highlighted the hidden cost: time. This realization prompted me to reconsider the value of dedicating precious time to an exam that might not align with my immediate goals and priorities. Carol's insight sparked a self-reflection on the importance of discerning between opportunities and focusing on what truly matters.

Conclusion:

My experience with the AZ-104 exam taught me to be discerning about the opportunities I pursue and to prioritize wisely. Learning to say no, avoiding spreading oneself too thin, and understanding the true cost of commitments are invaluable lessons that extend beyond exam preparation. As I move forward, I carry these insights into my decision-making process, ensuring that every endeavor aligns with my goals and contributes meaningfully to my professional and personal growth.

Top comments (0)