DEV Community

Jason
Jason

Posted on

I’m 15 built this new tool to find consumer pain points and product ideas.

Hey Reddit! Jason here. I'm still in high/secondary school, but I love tech/ai and building helpful (well, trying to) projects.

I recently released PainPoint.Pro, a new way to find consumer pain points and product ideas - I got a pretty decent response with about 3K visits to my site, I did not stop there though, I kept iterating and adding new features much requested by some awesome people here giving me feedback. Here's what it does and why I built it:

So, I noticed all these indie hackers scraping Reddit and X for product ideas. But I thought, why not look somewhere else? Somewhere with tons of opinions and complaints...

YouTube comments.

People are always complaining in the comments or voicing their opinion, think about MKBHD's videos, people are always pointing out the negatives of the tech he reviews.

That's why I created PainPoint.Pro. Here's what it does:

You give it a YouTube video URL (We have search functionality if you can't be bothered to open youtube)
It scans all the comments.
You get a neat report with:

Common complaints grouped together
Ideas for products to solve these issues
Highlighting of comments where people are saying "I wish there was a" or "I would pay for" etc etc
Most negative comments
A search function for all the comments
We give 1 free credit, try it out and lmk your thoughts! :)

However, If one Youtube video is not enough:

Enter a Youtube niche, eg tech or sports
It scans (up to) 10 videos in that niche to give you an even better report (This will be increased very soon just currently scaling my infrastructure)
You get the full report like mentioned above
What I learned from this is the importance of speed, and using the best tools to accelerate your development. With the tools right now you can 10X your speed allowing you to ship all of your ideas to a high quality standard every 1-3 weeks, this was never possible before and I’m still juggling secondary/highschool.

I'm not done here though and I will never be done, I'm working on more platforms which will be here soon. I understand the importance of speed and so I am working quickly to get this out.

Social proof is also much needed, so any constructive feedback is

If you want to see my full journey in building amazing (at least trying to) products, I am very active on X - https://x.com/ardeved - Send me a message here if you have any queries!

I have 53 ideas in my notepad (12 are stupid) which I will work on soon, but I'd love to hear your thoughts on my latest project - https://painpoint.pro!

Top comments (0)