DEV Community

Cover image for The inadvertent wall of Programming.
Kz
Kz

Posted on

The inadvertent wall of Programming.

I was browsing on my computer, on my not-a-premium YouTube account, looking for videos about guitar techniques, when I ran into an ad promoting programming with the premise that it being a growing industry, would continue to grow with a brutal investment of 9 billion dollars.

However, such a premise was upset by the fact that there were not enough programmers/developers/software engineers to fill the void and keep up with such investment.
Of course, the ad aimed to promote a coding academy.

On such a premise, stand start-ups like Platzi, Henry, CoderHouse, and the place where I study, Academlo. They teach you programming languages and train you on some of the skillset required for the craft that can’t just be taught.
I talked to one of my friends about it. He has been a backend Engineer for over 10 years and has built a very solid lifestyle which many have to struggle for. (Needlessly to say that it wasn’t easy for him).

That day, he told me about his learning path, then how he gained experience and how experience is valued in this work field in such a way that the more experience you have, the better the salary gets.

I have been an English teacher for over 10 years, and my salary expectations or actual compensations have never been that rewarding. In fact, in order to make a decent salary, one has to be willing to take in multiple jobs and put in 10 to 12 hours a day, 7 days a week.

When you put that in perspective… What do you have to think about to make a switch and hope for a change that would be meaningful enough to re-direct your life onto a new trail?
I thought to myself, “I’ve found IT!!!”

Moving on…
There is one thing that I never asked myself or others who talked to me about this profession, and that was the hiring process.

The process, I thought, will be very simple… given that there is a shortage on the number of programmers (IN THE WORLD), I figured that newly graduate programmers would be a catch.
So, I’d put myself out there, with the following expectation:

  • I’ll find an opening and apply.
  • They’ll set up a meeting.
  • I’ll have my skills tested.
  • They’ll make an offer.
  • I’ll be rich!

Clearly, the last part was a joke, but as absurd as the other steps were in my expectation, I did think it was going to be like that. (I am a smart person, I swear).

The process, however, has not been quite like it. And the reality is pretty cruel, to be honest.
Just today, I applied to 31 jobs opening between 2 different countries to get as much as the chance for an interview.
YES! An interview!

Not an offer, but an interview. I often wake up in the mornings and I find e-mails from companies saying, and I quote:
“We understand the effort…”, “We have decided to not move forward with your application…”, “We see potential in your skills…”, “We would really like to keep you in our pool of applicants”

I know that my fellow juniors can relate.
Following our common sense, we’d probably conclude that I may not be as qualified as I think I am, and therefore the rejection takes place.
Let’s hold that thought for a moment and ask ourselves how we can define “qualified” in this field.
There are many programming languages for different purposes, and another bunch for the same purposes, so… is it qualified = larger number of languages known?
Well, we’ll all have a different definition of what being qualified really means. I am going to venture and say one myself:

Being qualified (in this field) depends on how you can structure your logical reasoning to tackle problems while maintaining clear communication with a group of people.
I think that languages and technologies that are relevant will come along with experience. We can’t spend the whole life catching up with the latest technologies to finally be ready for interviews and responsibilities.
The history of this craft validates my definition.
So, this is the wall they do not warn you about. There is a shortage of programmers, but there is no door to enter through… there is a window, and it’s small and rusty.
Just the other day, I was watching a job post that read like this:

Looking for Software Developers Jr.

  • 3+ years of experience using (this and that) technologies.
  • Really good English level.
  • Experience in Database such as (this and that) Salary: USD$900 ________________________________________ How realistic these job posters are about the compensation between experience and salary? I have, at least, 3 more questions...
  • Is someone with "3+ years of experience" still considered a Jr.?
  1. Could someone with such good experience and knowledge work for 900 dollars? My point here is not Money. My point here is that to get in this field as to be given a chance, you must already be, at least, a first-level expert. That makes no sense, especially because in this field, there are multiple variables, unlike other work fields.

But then, I found a video, here’s the link to it (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dv7gLpW91DM)
And something that Mark said resonated in my head:
“…there aren’t enough people trained in half the skills today”
So, this resonated to the point that made me conclude:

  1. It is important to define a learning path and stick to it. Define it based on the type of things that you would like to work on, and master those tools. (Mastering something is a pretty word that defines the refinery of doing something after having a wide experience with it.)

  2. Most of these academies that educate you and train you are clueless about the requirements of these big companies. For instance… What skills is Mark talking about?
    These academies teach you programming languages, they train you to ace a technical interview… but, perhaps it’s not being correctly oriented… perhaps the problem is not recruiters looking for high-experienced juniors. Perhaps, the problem is in multiple variables.

Anyways… and with this, I conclude.
However hard the search is. However long is taking.
Regardless of the many hours of self-training, taking courses on Udemy, gaining certificates on LinkedIn, badges, and going through JavaScript coding challenges on YouTube…
All the effort will be rewarded, a job offer will arrive, and you will be a good fit for a team. If not, you will have navigated this field long and deep enough to start your own idea.

This is not my soothing things for you. This actually is one of the many beautiful facts about this career.
IT ALWAYS PAYS OFF.

Top comments (0)