DEV Community

Jay Popat
Jay Popat

Posted on

From Scams to Community: My Journey in Web3

The Allure of Crypto: A Teenager's Perspective

In the ever-evolving landscape of Web3, developers like myself often find ourselves chasing the elusive dream of mass adoption, sometimes at any cost. My journey into this world began, as it does for many, with the tantalizing promise of quick riches. At the tender age of 16, armed with nothing but pocket money and an insatiable curiosity, I took my first tentative steps into the cryptosphere.

Instead of letting my modest funds languish in a traditional wallet, I decided to explore the world of investing. With a mixture of excitement and trepidation, I onramped 50 euros onto my Trust Wallet. Playing it safe(ish), I allocated 10 USD each to Bitcoin and Ethereum, the giants of the crypto world. But it was the remaining 30 USD that would set me on a wild ride I never anticipated.

Safemoon: A Lesson in Crypto Hype

Enter Safemoon, the hot new coin that promised to revolutionize tokenomics. In a move that perfectly encapsulated my youthful naivety and hunger for success, I poured my remaining funds into this unknown entity. What happened next was nothing short of intoxicating: within just three days, my investment doubled.

Suddenly, I was convinced I had cracked the code to instant wealth. I dove headfirst into the Safemoon ecosystem, tuning into every AMA (Ask Me Anything) session, joining their Discord server, and even interacting directly with the co-founders. I absorbed new concepts like burning mechanisms and tokenomics, feeling like an insider in a revolutionary movement.

The euphoria reached its peak when Safemoon started getting listed on major exchanges. Despite my limited understanding of what tokens actually were or what problems crypto was meant to solve, I was riding high on the wave of excitement.

The Inevitable Crash: A Harsh Reality Check

However, the crypto world is nothing if not unpredictable. After a solid month or two of growth and community bonding, disaster struck. Safemoon's value plummeted, crashing all the way to near zero. The once-active co-founders, whom I had come to see as close allies of the community, vanished without a trace.

The day of the crash, I felt utterly wrecked. The realization that I had fallen victim to a scam was almost too much to bear. For about a week, I wallowed in self-pity, lamenting the loss of my hard-earned money. But then, something unexpected happened.

From Despair to Curiosity: The Birth of a Web3 Explorer

As the initial shock wore off, questions began to percolate in my mind. Why did this happen? How could my money seemingly disappear into thin air? What was the underlying technology that made such scams possible?

These questions marked the true beginning of my crypto journey. No longer content with being a naive investor chasing quick gains, I transformed into an inquisitive learner, eager to understand the mechanics behind blockchain technology.

The Educational Shift: From Speculator to Student

Fast forward a year, and my life had taken a new direction. Now a computer science student, I discovered a genuine passion for coding. The world of Web3 beckoned once again, but this time, I approached it with caution and a thirst for knowledge.

I began attending Web3 hackathons, not as a starry-eyed investor, but as a budding developer eager to learn and contribute. I experimented with testnets, carefully dipping my toes into mainnet tokens. The scars from my Safemoon experience had made me acutely aware of the potential pitfalls in the crypto world.

During this period, I found myself becoming a more serious investor in cryptocurrency. However, my approach had fundamentally changed. Instead of chasing the next hot coin, I focused on understanding the technology and potential real-world applications of each project I invested in.

The Polkadot Epiphany: Finding Purpose in Web3

Another year passed, and I found myself deeply engrossed in the Polkadot ecosystem. This experience marked a profound shift in my perspective on Web3. I wasn't just a spectator or an investor anymore; I had become an active participant in a decentralized community working towards meaningful change.

What drew me to Polkadot wasn’t just its technical capabilities, but its vision for the future. The governance model of Polkadot, where decisions are made by the community in a transparent and trustless environment, felt like a glimpse into what the future of society could be. A future where systems are decentralized, where power is distributed among the people, and decisions are made for the benefit of the public, by the public. In many ways, Polkadot aligns with my belief that technology should enable a more equitable, trustless society—one where we no longer need to rely on centralized authorities, but can instead trust in code and consensus.

Suddenly, discussions about changing inflation models or debating the merits of sponsoring a sports celebrity for blockchain promotion felt deeply personal. These weren't just technical issues; they were about the future we’re building together. I realized that the ecosystem functioned as one massive decentralized DAO, making incremental changes to improve Polkadot's position in the blockchain landscape.

A New Perspective on Value

This shift in mindset had a profound impact on how I viewed my investments. The fluctuation in DOT prices no longer dictated my mood or decisions. Instead, I focused on the quantity of DOT I held and, more importantly, how I could contribute to the ecosystem's improvement.

The wrong allocation of treasury funds felt like a personal affront, not because it might affect token price, but because it could hinder the progress of a project I deeply believed in. I found myself deeply connected to the ecosystem in a way I never imagined possible when I first bought that 10 USD of Bitcoin years ago.

Reflection and Gratitude

As I reflect on this journey, I'm struck by how much I've grown. From a teenager chasing quick profits to a committed builder in the Web3 space, every step – even the painful ones – has been invaluable.

I'm particularly grateful to community leaders like Jay from Kusamarian, whose efforts to engage the community through initiatives like the AAG (Attempts at Governance) have been instrumental in keeping participants informed and involved in the ecosystem's development.

Looking Forward: The Future of Web3 and My Role in It

Today, as I continue to build and learn in the Web3 space, I'm more convinced than ever of its potential to drive significant technological and social change. However, I also recognize the challenges that lie ahead.

The crypto space still struggles with its image as a playground for get-rich-quick schemes. It needs more individuals to transition from speculation to education and meaningful contribution. As someone who has walked this path, I feel a responsibility to guide others and contribute to creating sustainable, valuable ecosystems beyond mere speculation.

A Call to Action

To all the builders, developers, and community members out there: your work in educating users and building robust, useful systems is crucial. We're not just developing technology; we're shaping the future of decentralized systems and, potentially, society itself.

And to those just starting their Web3 journey: approach with curiosity, skepticism, and a willingness to learn. The road may be bumpy, but the destination – a more open, transparent, and equitable digital world – is worth the journey.

As for me, I pledge to continue building, learning, and contributing to make Web3 not just a space for speculation, but a force for positive change in the world. From scams to community, my journey in Web3 has been transformative, and I'm excited to see where it leads next.

Top comments (0)