DEV Community

Justin Ho
Justin Ho

Posted on • Updated on

How do you balance your work day?

So I've only been blogging on DEV for 2 weeks (got some great responses).

I want to reach more readers so my goals is to write a bit more everyday but try to post more consistently. It's been difficult to find time to write or post during the day and I always end up writing during the night.

How do you guys decide when to write and how do you balance between your day job and writing?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

I have yet to write an actual article here. The road to hell is paved with good intentions. :) I don't think I'd have time during the day, unless things are slow, which is relatively rare.

I do write at night, but that's heavy metal music reviews. Hmmm... my 2,000th review is going online tonight, actually. :)

Collapse
 
jcsh profile image
Justin Ho

That's really neat! I'm not a heavy metal listener but I do enjoy reading reviews of music!

Do you find that your review's reach get influenced by the time at which you post?

Early congrats on 2000 reviews 🎉

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

Thanks. :)

I've been posting at roughly the same schedule for many years now, so the regulars are kind of used to that. Usually what will make a difference in reach is when a band and/or label/PR agency with a strong following share the reviews or interviews on social media. Of course, big holidays usually see a drop in viewership as people busy, unlike when they're at work. LOL :)