DEV Community

JesseNReynolds
JesseNReynolds

Posted on

My Experience with Flatiron School

I've now completed my final project review, and am starting to look for jobs. It seems like so long ago and also only yesterday that I started the Flatiron School Software Engineering program. I've learned so much, met some wonderful people, and developed a passion for development and the ability to solve problems and build solutions that I have been able to acquire so far.

The curriculum can be frustrating at points, parts almost seemed out of order. The majority of it, though, is good. Most lessons were well written, with good supplementary information linked in case the student is struggling. The curriculum did a great job teaching concepts, which, I've been told by people I know in the field some bootcamps miss on. It sounds cheesy, but I really do feel the curriculum did a good job of teaching how to think like a software engineer and not just someone who can only regurgitate the patterns they've seen before.

I know a lot of bootcamps have moved to 100% javascript, but I am very happy to have learned Ruby and Rails on the way. Seeing how similar concepts are handled by different languages helps peel back the layers and see the workings with more context. Rails is also an incredibly streamlined back-end for personal projects that I'm sure I'll use again even if I land in a shop with a different stack.

I know that this is just the start of a career, and there's so much left to learn and to explore, but I feel I have been well prepared to continue that exploration on my own, or in the context of a professional team.

Top comments (0)