DEV Community

Jason Harrel
Jason Harrel

Posted on

How I Got An Interview With My Dream Place

I have been powering through this lockdown and COVID-19 trying to keep learning and expanding my knowledge. One thing I have also been trying to obtain is an interview with someone to hopefully grab my first dev role, and get real world experience. I never thought I'd get a call about doing it with my dream company, Major League Baseball.

I worked with MLB last year on their pitchcast team. The team that puts up the little strike zone box above home plate to show where pitches land. Cool huh? While in the office I was lucky enough to be around broadcast developers that work on stuff for teams broadcast as well as stuff for the site as well. I would pick their brains or even just slightly look over their shoulders to try and get some insight into how it was run.

Well towards the end of the bootcamp, I was asked to show the lead developer a project I had been working on in JavaScript. He was impressed. End of discussion basically. I was excited to show, but a little left in the dark as to if he liked it or not?

Well, I recently reached out to him expressing any help if needed. I didn't know if it was going to lead anywhere. Well I got a message asking to submit some more work and he'll get back to me.

Being nervous I sent over my work. I sent more than was asked. I sent the stuff I'm most proud of and stuff that I thought was decent, just to show that I continue to create.

After a few conversations we set up a time to have an initial interview and see where I can be with their requirements!

It's better than I ever thought it could be and I'm excited for the opportunity to get here and hopefully I can hit one out of the park! (little baseball fun there? No? Not funny? shucks)

I may not be able to play in the big leagues, but to me, this is the big leagues.

Top comments (0)