DEV Community

Cover image for Task force week two
James Nyagatare
James Nyagatare

Posted on

Task force week two

Greetings,

It’s been two weeks at task force. I finally started coding a todo app api at Awesomity Lab, well it’s not my first time with a todo app api but the language, the technology and framework they are all new, at first it’s been too challenging because I used to code in JavaScript with it’s framework called express, right now I switched to nestjs and I am using typescript, the secure language I am enjoying right now I am proud I am growing both technically and professionally.

Speaking of professionalism, I really enjoyed the sessions I had with Anja teaching us about intercultural(business) and non verbal communication, the good thing I really appreciate with Anja is that she let us make our research, personally this helps me because the things I researched on my own it’s really hard to forget them. You may be here reading this but you are questioning yourself but James what did you really learn? Well I now know that before you meet someone it’s advisable that you make a deep research about their culture, knowing more about his or her culture will improve the level of empathy while trying to communicate with them. I don’t think you want to attack someone at his or her first sight.

I didn’t know how powerful non verbal communication was, I did not know that the body language can mean something way different to what you are talking and that may influence the personnel you are communicating with, the takeaway from this is that I have to pay attention when I am using gestures because they may attack him or her which may result to the personnel thinking I am apathetic with them.

The second week was educational, challenging and productive. Task force has everything I have been searching to boost my career. Looking forward to the coming weeks.

Top comments (0)