DEV Community

Hyunjin Shin (Jin)
Hyunjin Shin (Jin)

Posted on

Hacktoberfest - Week 4

Links

Repo that I worked on
Issue
Pull Request that I opened

Process

I have worked on a huge repo(ladybird) and miserably failed on fixing it. I was deeply frustrated, my neck, back, eyes sored from long sitting and watching screen, and the due date was comming. I really wanted to make a PR to a huge repo, but I failed. As a result, I started looking for a smaller and easier repo that I can fix. I found one issue that I think I can easily fix. It was just fixing the password checker function. Previously, it couldn't properly detect the numbers in password; it could only check the number in the first character(e.g. "1abcdefg" or "2345abcd"). For example, if the password is "abc5defg" then it didn't recognize the number and will generate an error "the password should contain at least one digit". Now, it can check the numbers in any position.

Reflection

This issue was too simple and too easy for my third PR. I feel bad. I really feel bad. I really want to contribute to a larger repo. However, I think my ability is just this much. However; for the last PR for release 0.2, I will try my best to make a PR to bigger repo whether I fail or lose marks for not finishing fourth PR. My pride doesn't allow me to be satisfied with having those simple issues solved.

Top comments (0)