DEV Community

Jay Koontz
Jay Koontz

Posted on • Updated on

Senior Software Eng (web) looking to take on apprentice

Hi everyone. This isn't the first time I've opened the doors to taking on an apprentice, and I find it to be the most rewarding part of my career. Watching one-by-one as my students got their first job was one of the most thrilling things to see happen in both their lives and mine, and after really figuring out what it takes to get someone job-ready from nothing, I know exactly how to get you there as well.

In my opinion, everything you need to get a job is out there on the internet. That doesn't make it easy to become a web developer, though. It's just the start.

Programming is famously difficult to learn. I partly blame how our education system forces us into this "oh no, I'm wrong!" mentality, and that there's some magic "right answer" out there that only "smart" people know and that's why only "smart" people "get it" and you don't.

That mentality helps no one. Truth is, though, it's difficult to learn even with the right mentality. It's death-by-a-thousand-choices out there when it comes to learning anything. It's also a lot of uncertainty. How do you know if you're doing anything right, or even useful?

Well I've seen a pizza boy with no college degree grow into a competent developer with a job by sheer force of will and a light touch of guidance, and I can show you how to do the exact same thing.

To do this, I'm going to host a small group video chat and Q&A session. Everyone from any background and a desire to get a job in programming is welcome to attend.

You'll walk away from it knowing exactly what you need to do next to get closer to a job as a web developer. For some of you, that might mean joining my apprenticeship group (and I'll tell you what the group is like during the call). For others, it might mean joining my discord group where we work on small projects to nail the foundations of HTML, CSS, and JS in preparation for professional web app development.

If you want to join, just reach out to me on either Discord at jk#8880, LinkedIn, or Reddit with your current history with learning programming and any questions you'd want answered during the group video call. I'll record it, so don't worry if you can't make it.

I hope to bring to you my full experience of getting people their first job in this field. If that's what you're looking for, I'm excited to take you there myself.

Top comments (0)