DEV Community

John Leavell
John Leavell

Posted on • Updated on

First week in a Software development apprenticeship

Hello there, fellow developers!

I just finished my first week at Discovery Partners Institute's Software Development Apprenticeship program, and I wanted to share my experience with you.

Before we dive in, I want to clarify that this isn't a bootcamp. Instead, it's an immersive learning program designed to teach individuals of all levels and backgrounds how to become a software developer.

The first week of the program was mainly focused on orientation and administrative work, including introductions, icebreakers, and team-building exercises. However, we also had the opportunity to learn about foundational skills, essential habits and traits that are crucial in the professional workspace.

One of the highlights of the first week was the module titled "Figuring out your why," which was an assignment designed to create a mission statement that clarifies your purpose or your why. Your reason for choosing the path of a software developer.

Throughout the week, we were provided with tons of resources and helpful information that will undoubtedly come in handy as we progress through the program. We also had the opportunity to connect with industry professionals and experienced developers who were eager to share their knowledge and expertise with us.

Overall, I had a fantastic experience during my first week at the Discovery Partners Institue Software Development Apprenticeship program. I'm excited to continue learning and growing as a developer and can't wait to see what the rest of the program has in store for me.

If you're interested in pursing a career in software development, I highly recommend checking out Discovery Partners Institute's Apprenticeship program. Trust me, it's worth it!

Top comments (0)