DEV Community

Joanne
Joanne

Posted on

Day 2 - Testimonials Slider

testimonials project

Posted on Day 3

For the second day I worked on building a testimonials slider. Test it out here. I am using a variety of sources to get my project ideas from and today's project is from Frontend Mentor. These projects are great for zoning out on following a required style guide so I can focus on just getting things right.

struggle

keep going

I also found myself struggling to write vanilla Javascript this time which leads me to believe that React and JSX is actually more like Javascript on training wheels.

What I Learned

css

so old yet so true

The project has me further refining my SVG and layout skills. And this section today is dedicated to the philosophy that despite planning code ahead of time, something will always come up. There were many little details that slipped by me, not limited to:

  • Layering things in order ahead of time, but oops, I nested my button inside two parent elements
  • Perhaps one button will suffice, oh I was "thinking in React" - or may be I could have created one button after all - or...
  • Do you really need that many containers?
  • Responsive works, but how responsive do I want it to be?
  • To flex wrap or not to wrap? ... and the list goes on.

How This Can Help Me

Some notes and takeaways for myself includes answering and exploring contexts for the question like the ones written above. And it also makes me consider taking more time planning out my code. For example, 40 versus 20 minutes to make room for considering tougher edge cases.

Hold on to your hats for a double posting since I posted later about this one. Onto the next challenge!

Top comments (0)