DEV Community

João
João

Posted on

New Life, new Horizons, New Job

I've been working at SERPRO for 10 years. Ten years is a lot of time in the IT field. Fortunately, I learned a lot about development, working with people, working with bureaucracy, and many, many other professional lessons. Work wasn't bad, actually. It was frustrating sometimes, but the salary was nice, coworkers were great people and I had some freedom to study and opt for new technologies, at least given the limits of a large public company. Oh, and I had job stability, which is the dream of the vast majority of the Brazilian. The political landscape in Brazil is ridiculously unstable, and so is the economy.

I felt that something was missing, though. You know that gut feeling that you should be doing something else? So, I decided to assess my skills in the market, see how I would do out of Serpro. I was quite surprised to see I was quite qualified, actually! I never wanted to be the kind of guy that lives in the public sector, afraid of losing my job and not being able to relocate without a major hit on my salary.

As everyone in the world probably knows, the Brazilian government is not something we are proud of. They are also not exactly fond of owning a public IT company, so they want to privatize it. It's a good thing that I already got a good job proposal before I could quit Serpro.

So, goodbye Serpro, and welcome, BairesDev! I'm quite happy with my new job, and I hope I can bring my skills to the table. This feels almost like a new life to me. After all, it's been 10 years in the public field, and I fortunately didn't lose my mojo.

Top comments (0)