DEV Community

Joel Okoro
Joel Okoro

Posted on

Resuming an old project

So it turns out that getting back to a project you haven't touched in weeks, gives you a feeling that is eerily similar to the one you get when you load up the save file for a game you haven't played in months or a TV Series you haven't been keeping up with, only to be reminded how much you've forgotten the controls and that so-and-so character is now the villain.

The project in question was a website with statistics on top performing players in the Top 2 tiers of English Football (Premier League and Championship). The technologies used were HTML, CSS, SASS, JavaScript and Photoshop.

At the time of creating the project, I wanted to practice using NPM and SASS for a project and combining it with my love of football, and felt this would be a perfect way to do that. Anyway, as with most projects, I left it on the backburner to start a completely new project. Basically, every day I wasn't completing this project, I felt a sort of guilt and regret as well as feeling that the skills I gained learning NPM and SASS were slowing fading away.

So, how did I overcome this? Well, I carried on with the project as if I never left. I know, it's such an underwhelming answer. But the reason is, every time I thought to myself that I spent too much time away from the project to remember how to write mixins in SASS or that whether or not I should carry on with a brand new project, I wasted even more time. This led me to spend days re-learning things like built-in SASS functions and NPM Scripts just to make sure I remembered each concept for when I resumed the project.

I feel like it's actually a lot more beneficial to dive back into the project as the concepts actually came back to me whilst I was coding, in addition to re-reading the code I wrote when I last did the project. I also found it super helpful to reference the official documentation.

Top comments (0)