DEV Community

Johannes Dienst
Johannes Dienst

Posted on

Being a Developer Advocate: Week 12

Content creation is one of the main activities of a Developer Advocate. And that was what I was doing half the week. And I finished my first video. It should be out next week 🥳

Then we had a devastating Developer Experience Audit which motivated me to do better!

And the content syndication efforts are starting. Let's do this! I will keep you posted on what platforms we ended on and how that is working out 🤓

Recording and Postproduction

Everybody thinks that standing in front of a camera is easy to work. It took me 1.5 days to finish the recordings and another day to do the postproduction of my first video tutorial.

Things I learned:

  • A solid grip on the structure before recording is advised
  • Some things just do not work out on camera. That is why you have to do many takes
  • I noticed a lot of holes and prerequisites I was not aware of when teaching the stuff. That is nothing new and also happens when I write a tutorial.
  • Postproduction takes a long time
  • Recording with OBS and editing with Da Vinci Resolve gives you the most flexibility. But is also the most time-consuming!
  • Next time I will do an outtake-reel 😂

Devastating Developer Experience Audit

A new colleague with a less technical background joined and we took the chance to do a Developer Experience Audit.

With his specific setup, he got hard stuck and could not complete the onboarding 😢

Fortunately, he provided a thorough write-down of all the problems he encountered and what would have helped him. And also some nice suggestions on how to improve!

To everybody who needs to hear this

Do Developer Experience Audits regularly!

Internal Advocating

The experience above also motivated us to better understand internal advocating for our developer users (That is the other part of the job nobody sees 🥰).

I am confident we can improve the whole Developer Experience in the next weeks.

What it also highlighted was, that is crucial in DevRel to be able to speak to nearly everybody in their language. I had talk to Development, Sales and Product to get the feedback and also to get the fixes into the pipeline.

I truly can say I love doing that! Talking to people with different views on things, understanding their challenges, and working towards a shared goal together: Building a great product!

Top comments (0)