DEV Community

John Mitchell
John Mitchell

Posted on

AI for Development: Phind

I'm a big fan of AI for Development: it always gives me interesting code and discussion, and is faster than Google (!). I'm senior enough to recognize when it goes off the rails.

I just tried "Phind" which is even better. It answers an English tech question like ChatGPT, but also gives sources including links to what material it's relying on!

Example: https://www.phind.com/search?cache=p5rwi1t4jj1fa8aof10s3ghk

I asked

Python's pytest can run the most recent failing test first. > What is the equivalent for Ruby?

It carefully fleshed out my original question -- which itself was great, said "no equivalent", and sketched out a possible answer.

It's not smart. Googling for 1/2 second gave me the "--fail-fast" Rspec option which will run all tests then stop on the first failure. Not what I'd originally asked for, but close. It would have been nice if Phind had said "by the way...".

Top comments (0)