DEV Community

Jonathan Higgs
Jonathan Higgs

Posted on

The Developers Creed

This is my debugger. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My debugger is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life. My debugger, without me, is useless. Without my debugger, I am useless. I must use my debugger constantly. I must set the breakpoints to find the bug that is trying to evade me. I must find it before it hits production. I will... My debugger and I know that what counts in this sprint is not the total lines of code we write, the frameworks we use, nor the fancy language features we use. We know it is this fix that counts. We will fix... My debugger is human, even as I, because it is my life. Thus, I will learn it as a brother. I will learn its weaknesses, its strengths, its features and its plugins. I will ever guard it against the ravages of the environment as I will ever guard my hands, my eyes and my stack overflow reputation against damage. I will keep my debugger close and ready. We will become part of each other. We will... Before the compiler, I swear this creed. My debugger and myself are the defenders of the repository. We are the masters of understanding the codebase. We are the saviours of the users. So be it, until victory is ours and there are no bugs, but peace!

Top comments (0)