DEV Community

Cover image for The Accidental Networker: Stumbling into a Tech Career and Beyond
Jorde G
Jorde G

Posted on

The Accidental Networker: Stumbling into a Tech Career and Beyond

It was my senior year of college, and the anxiety of post-graduation job hunting was looming over me. I imagined myself as one of those frightful LinkedIn posts claiming, "I've applied to 1000 jobs and still no luck." My father, an immigrant with a penchant for home improvement store parking lot job-hunting, offered a peculiar piece of advice: "Talk to people in person," he said as if it were that simple.

In a desperate attempt to network, I stumbled upon LinkedIn and started adding randoms like my life depended on it. I soon discovered tech meetups all over LA and began attending them religiously, like a moth drawn to the flashing lights of networking opportunities. As I participated in these meetups, I realized the importance of building context and understanding the various paths people took to break into the tech industry.

I still needed a plan despite rubbing shoulders with fellow tech hopefuls and industry professionals. My intentions were there, but my execution was flailing like a fish out of water. That's when I decided to focus on programs and events geared toward Hispanic students. I attended every mixer I could, hoping to find a lead on a job, but I still struggled to make meaningful connections.

Then, one fateful day, I found myself conversing with a sales guy with a knack for making things happen. With a few swift introductions, I landed an interview and subsequent contract-to-hire position at an insurance company. Apparently, my two years of JavaScript experience were sufficient for a role that required seven.

Suddenly, the world of networking and contract work was my oyster. I dove headfirst into LinkedIn, treating it like an overeager artist's portfolio - every keyword, image, and site was meticulously added. My newfound contract work lifestyle provided flexibility, decent pay, and interview processes that didn't require half a day's worth of interrogation.

I began to relish the freedom and variety of contract work, moving from one project to another, experiencing diverse work environments, and learning new skills. I even found opportunities to take on leadership roles, organizing and prioritizing tasks to streamline the development process and consulting with managers to optimize team performance.

Of course, it wasn't all rainbows and butterflies; contract work had drawbacks. Full-time employee perks were as elusive as a needle in a haystack, and holidays turned into workdays. But, coming from a background of retail work and cramped apartment living, the trade-offs seemed trivial.

Lo and behold, after a year of hopping from one contract job to another, I found myself a proud homeowner in the booming Los Angeles housing market. It was an achievement that seemed unfathomable just a short time ago.

So, here's the moral of this serendipitous networking adventure: If you're an aspiring tech nerd or a recent graduate teetering on the edge of despair, don't be afraid to leap into the world of contract work.

Sure, it's not all smooth sailing, but the experiences and opportunities it offers might just be the life raft you need to stay afloat in the ever-changing sea of the tech industry.

Embrace the journey, and you might just find yourself making a splash in ways you never thought possible.

Top comments (0)