DEV Community

Jose Gonzalez
Jose Gonzalez

Posted on

Going to bed by 10pm and stop playing World of Warcraft - Day 6

Good day boys and girls!

Welcome to another entry on this journey:

  1. Go to bed by 10pm
  2. Stop playing World of Warcraft (again).

If you are not familiar with what we are doing here, I invite you to check out the intro to the series.

Friendly reminder: this is to help you reflect on yourself. You may not be having the same struggles, but I hope you can take something useful out of these stories.

Let's continue our journey!

Day 6 (Weekend)

  1. Waking up
    Hurray for nothing scheduled on Saturday mornings. Sleeping in and not having to wake up early is freaking awesome, don't you agree?

    Except when you get hungry. That's the only reason to wake up.

    Or running in my case. I noticed I have been slacking on my morning runs. On the weekends, I tend to go longer distance, but this morning wasn't going to be one of those days.

    Hmmm...not bad. I still ended up with almost 5 miles.

  2. Relaxing time!
    After the run, I had an early lunch (it was already noon).

    My original plan was to eat and continue handling the family finances, but ended up watching two movies with the missus back-to-back on the couch.

    Yep, I was a couch potato for most of the afternoon...and loved it!

    Not to mentioned being with the missus and doing nothing.

  3. Evening + Dinner
    Can you tell I love food, yet?

    As evening settling in, we ate dinner and continue to watch Futurama as a family (we've watching this serious for almost 100 times, and never get sick of it).

    After dinner, I was feeling tired and thought I was gonna crash by 8pm.

    But I couldn't. I had to write and publish Day 5 entry.

  4. Moar Pokemon
    Once I was done with publishing Day 5 entry, I continued my Pokemon FireRed adventure.

    And for so dang reason, I got a second wind. I woke up and had a hard time falling asleep by 10pm.

    To be fair, I did get to bed at 10:15pm-ish. Not bad.

    Man, you are messing up.

    Is that really you or your inner judge thinking that?

    I promised myself I wasn't going to be too damn critical for being in bed a few minutes late.

    You aren't being discipline.

    My inner judge thinks. But I know it's a way to screw me over with guilt and self-resentment. It's a trap. I know him all too well.

How did we do? πŸ€”

  1. Get to bed by 10pm? ❌
    Late by a few minutes.

    I think I would've gotten a lot more success if I had set up my limit to 10:30pm. I have been by bed before 10:30pm with ease.

    I'm improving too. Before this adventure, I was in bed by 11pm or 11:30pm during weekdays. I'll take going to bed a few minutes after 10pm any day.

  2. Stop playing World of Warcraft βœ…
    Winner, winner, chicken dinner!

    I was dreading the weekend. But I did pretty good. I got some stuff (not listed here) besides being a good couch potato.

    The urge doesn't go away. The judge tests me every possible time it can. The bastard is a two-timer jerk though.

    C'mon, you handle it. You've not problem with the game!

    Followed by.

    You are so weak that you can't last 7 days without playing some stupid game. You take that so seriously. Don't play or you will disappoint a lot of people!

    I told you he was a bastard, didn't I?

Conclusion

A tough challenge today.

Honestly, it went a lot easier than expected. I enjoyed watching movies with the missus and laying on my nice comfortable couch.

Even though I was a few minutes late, it was not a big deal really. I'm getting better each night I give a try.

What about you? What will your journey say?

Thanks for reading. Till tomorrow!

Top comments (0)