DEV Community

Jose Gonzalez
Jose Gonzalez

Posted on

Going to bed by 10pm and stop playing World of Warcraft - Day 5

Good day boys and girls.

Welcome to another entry on this journey:

  1. Go to bed by 10pm
  2. Stop playing World of Warcraft (again).

If you are not familiar with what's going on here, I invite you to check out the intro to the series.

I hope while you read this, it helps you take action on whatever you are trying to improve in your life.

Let's continue the journey.

Day 5

  1. Coming home🏠
    I had to rush home, shower and get back out.

    Why? It was date night. It was the first date night the missus and I had in a very long time. It was long overdue.

    We had been looking forward to it since the beginning of the week. We had been talking about it like two teenagers whose parents were out of town!

  2. Da plan 📜
    The night plan was very simple:

    • Drop off the kids (6pm-9pm)
    • Have some drinks
    • Watch a movie (Deadpool 2)

    A fine evening if you ask me.

    Luckily, all places were very close to each other. This helped us save a lot of driving time.

  3. Drinks 🥂
    After dropping of the kids, we went to our favorite spot for food and drinks.

    It was great taking off the parent hat. We have a rule when we go out on dates: we don't talk about our kids.

    It may sound harsh and probably heartless, but it works for us.

    The drinks and food were good as always. We were just shooting the breeze until the movie started. We were having such a great time that we almost ditched the movie and continue drinking and just chillin'.

  4. Movie 🎦
    The movie was great. I won't spoil it for you.

    It had been a very long time since we sat next to each other. I felt like our early days when we used to go out to the movies on a weekly basis.

    We agreed that we needed to go out alone more often.

  5. Pick up + Home 🏠
    After the evening was over, we were all home at around 9:30pm. I was about to stay in bed and crash for the night.

    Then, I remember I had to wrap up my Day 4 entry. It drove me passed 10pm.

    No regrets. I'm glad to share this adventure to you.

    The good news is that I passed out as soon as I got to bed shortly after 10pm.

How did we do? 🤔

  1. Get to bed by 10pm?
    Missed it by a few minutes.

    It's OK. I won't let my judge guilt trip me because I was late only a few minutes.

    I got to spend more quality time with my best friend. Also, letting out some steam without wearing the parent hat helped me out a lot.

  2. Stop playing World of Warcraft
    A day like this one made this part super easy.

    I'm glad I stopped playing a few days ago. I was present while having some drinks with the missus and enjoying the movie.

    I wasn't distracted by rushing to come home to get my "fix". This is already paying itself in less than a week.

Conclusion

After a great evening with the missus, I'm OK not getting to bed at 10pm. As I mentioned, I got in bed very shortly after 10pm.

I'm slowly getting back to my old self. My anxiety and withdrawal are improving because I didn't feel rushed to get home to play World of Warcraft.

I like where this is going.

What would your journal say? 🙂

Thanks for reading. Till tomorrow1

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
offirmo profile image
Offirmo

Go for it!