DEV Community

JosephTJK
JosephTJK

Posted on • Updated on

JS Frameworks-Boilerplates Comparison

In Week 3 of class, our group had to install four boilerplates into our git repo:

  • Angular
  • Vue
  • React
  • StencilJS.

Similarities between the Boilerplates

Each single one of the boilerplates possesses a package.json file showing the installed dependencies and available scripts to run the boilerplate.
Each boilerplate has basic dev tools to get it set up and running in an environment.
Each boilerplate has README files

Best Boilerplate

Of all the four boilerplates, I would say the React Boilerplate is the easiest to setup and use. It's intuitive nature makes it very easy to set up the boilerplate. For the class project, I chose react and I seemed to have a much easier time than all of my other teammates in getting it up and running. Having never used it before, I appreciated that React had everything I needed to make changes to the main page encapsulated into one folder. React also has a great amount of support for its components and dependences which really helps when configuring any issues incase they arise.

Preferred Boilerplate for next project

I think I would stick to the React boilerplate because it has the highest number of people working to support it which can really make a big difference when desiring a quick plug-and-play experience.
The only downside is that React requires adding libraries to make it a complete framework and leverage some of its advanced features. However it is still the easiest to setup and get running.

Link to get the react boilerplate:
https://github.com/react-boilerplate/react-boilerplate

Link to my group's organization:
https://github.com/ist402groupj/boilerplates

Top comments (0)