DEV Community

Jeff Stroup
Jeff Stroup

Posted on

How did You Get Started?

Software development and UI work is such a vast field. You can't help to be amazed at all the opportunities and sub-topics software development and UI work offer. What is also amazing is the fact you can do either of those literally anywhere in the world and anyone can do it. Because anyone can do it, it is interesting to learn how people got started since everyone's path is different.

Back in the day, I use to work in a grocery store. I really did think I was going to work there forever. Then one day, they shut the doors for good setting off a chain reaction. A blessing in disguise.

I then somehow ended up in construction work and after a while, became extremely unhappy. I had no degree at this time and was limited on my options. Searching for what little options that I had led me to a video (I wish I could remember it) about programming and in that moment found what I wanted to do. Interesting fact, I created a Youtube channel a while back for this very reason. To maybe one day change someone's life for the better. Anyway, it ultimately led me to degree in computer science and the rest is history.

That was my story of how I got started. Kind of wild but well worth every minute. Now that you know mine, how did you get started?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
matthewjtrask profile image
Matt Trask

I got asked to write for a blog series last year, and decided to detail my journey of how I got started here:

24daysindecember.net/2018/12/02/th...