DEV Community

Cover image for Can old dogs learn new tricks?
jtwebguy
jtwebguy

Posted on

Can old dogs learn new tricks?

Back then, the web universe was very simple. Just a bunch of tools here and there and jQuery was the new black and it was a mess. I was coding in Notepad++ the entire 9 years! WordPress was dominating the blogger sphere and it turned into a swiss-army knife of some sort and now turning into a big pile of cow dung.

Today there's a dizzying array of IDEs, Frameworks and everything coder boys want to get their hands into. SPAs are white hot and JS frameworks are popping up like mushrooms.

To be honest I let myself cruise along. Happy go lucky. I was earning a decent amount for me and my kids so I was flipping WP sites without ever touching Angular or React and I am paying the price. Competitiveness was thrown out the window.

I'm turning 39 next month and boy I feel old. I've been in the Web Dev business for almost 14 years to date. Started as a junior PHP and now tinkering with these fancy JavaScript toys. I've successfully rebuilt a site from AngularJS to Angular 11 (that's not a very pleasant experience) and I'm now playing around with react and hopefully finish up my craiglist-esque website.

I need to re-learn JavaScript fast. Yes, I can cough up a decent JS code but it's not enough. Questions like "What is the event loop" or "What is shadow DOM" are most likely to be asked during interviews. Like seriously there are those now?

With luck I found frontendinterviewhandbook.com and trying to get eloquent enough with JS and teach this old dog some new tricks.

Top comments (0)