DEV Community

Junaid
Junaid

Posted on

An idea to tackle GPS Spoofing in autonomous vehicles

Today I came to know that there is a threat to autonomous vehicles, GPS Spoofing while attending an event. Suddenly An idea popped up in my mind to tackle this threat. I don't know if this idea is valid or if it is in action already, I didn't go for much research. Just dumping my thoughts. So happy reading.

The idea is why can't we introduce a special communication between the vehicles in the same area. Suppose every vehicle is interconnected with something like Bluetooth just to verify that they are in the same GPS location. I will explain. If there are 10 vehicles in some car's so-called Bluetooth range, at periodic intervals that particular car verifies that, am I in the same location as theirs. If not, there is someone spoofing someone's GPS. We will use AI to improve it to the most sensible level.

This was just a broad explanation of my idea.

Top comments (0)