DEV Community

Cover image for Why I chose Python
Karine BAUCH
Karine BAUCH

Posted on • Updated on

Why I chose Python

A few time ago, I thought that Python was just for scientists who want to handle data or for geeks who want to automate things.

But Python is powerful !

Python is really everywhere

That’s the most popular language for just over a year according to PYPL (PopularitY of Programming Languages), or the TIOBE index.

Python syntax is quite simple, even if you’re not a programmer, you can easily understand what a function do.


Python: A Matter Of Style (PEP8)

No bracket, just indentation!

Each programmer needs to respect this syntax to see his code work.

By the way, PEP8 is a style guide, a set of rules to get style standardization.


Python: From School To Cinema, And Even For The Web

Python has replaced BASIC language in the students scientific calculator.

It’s used into scripts of Industrial Light & Magic, special effects company of George Lucas, since 1996.

We find Python in 3D modelling software as Blender.

In CAD (conception aided design) live FreeCAD Project Association.

Or with Django in websites like Instagram, Pinterest, Mozilla.

We can do all we want with Python : scripts, web, ML…!

And maybe, it will replace JavaScript directly in our Apps thanks to the tag. Not ready for production but It’s an Anaconda project.


Why I Chose Python?

I think that, as programmers, we should develop severals skills, discover new things to follow what drives us and create our dreaming job.

Me, my dream is to do freelance jobs linked to data science, machine learning and AI.

This job, will allow me to resolve my customer’s problems giving us the value I have learnt and what I’m continuously learning.

That’s my vision of a developer!

And you? What’s your vision?

What’s your dreaming job?


This article was inspired by an article in a French magazine named « Programmez », if you understand french, it’s a good resource to read.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
volodyslav profile image
Volodyslav

Yeah python is the best 😁 great article

Collapse
 
karine_bauch profile image
Karine BAUCH

Thanks Vlad !
Every day I discover a new feature, I am like a child who discover the gifts under the christmas tree

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

Karine, bravo pour ce premier article.
The only thing I would modify is your first sentance, there is no excuse yourself for making errors in what is not your mother language.
Whoever think it's easy to write in a second langauge is welcome to try writing out an article in japanese or something, we will see how that turns out for him.
In fact that requires courage

Collapse
 
karine_bauch profile image
Karine BAUCH

Thanks Jean-Michel 🙏
I will delete it 😬