DEV Community

Andrew Meredith
Andrew Meredith

Posted on

What are micro frontends anyway?

I have a good bit of experience as a developer, and I still honestly don't understand what micro frontends are.

Specifically, it seems like they are either just standalone SPAs with links between them, or they are essentially Web Components that are plugged into some site.

Can you all help me out? What are micro frontends? Do you use them? Do you like them?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
mellon_dev profile image
mellondev

In my view I see micro frontends as the front end equivalent of microservices.
I also see them as you described, components that are embedded within another SPA, but loaded from a separately deployed url.

You could develop a micro frontend along with a microservice to cover a vertical slice within your domain, enables you to develop and deploy it separately to your main application, so if you need to update it you don’t need to redeploy the entire application, just your vertical