DEV Community

Kenny Chen
Kenny Chen

Posted on

How We Achieved Minimal Downtime During Our PostgreSQL Database Upgrade

Hello everyone, I’m Kenny, a Backend Engineer from Dcard.

Recently, we upgraded the primary PG 9.6 Cluster of Dcard’s services to the 11 version, managing to limit write downtime within ten minutes, and successfully rebuilt the OfflineDB and CDC services within an hour. In this article, we will share how we accomplished this challenging task.

Because English is not my native language, the grammar and semantics of the article might not be entirely accurate. However, while undergoing the upgrade, I also reviewed numerous upgrade articles from international companies and personal blog. As a result, I'd like to share my own upgrade experience. :)

Feel free to ask me any question !

Top comments (0)