DEV Community

Cover image for Bootcamp challenges and how I have adapted in the last few weeks
KKDoddy
KKDoddy

Posted on

Bootcamp challenges and how I have adapted in the last few weeks

Before starting the Bootcamp, I used to think of it as just a program where someone can only improve their programming skills through the help of learning facilitators and various resources given to you. But what I didn't know was you don't only get to improve your programming skills, you also learn other things including communication skills, team-working skills, and more. These are the challenges I have faced and how I have adapted in the last weeks.

On the first day, all Bootcamp members are separated into small groups where each group is given an LFA(learning facilitator assistant). This is someone who guides you in this period of two weeks. One of the jobs of an LFA is to review your codes and check on your progress periodically, then give you feedback on what you did good and what needs improvement. For the LFAs to do that, they must maintain a flawless communication with you. This was sometimes hard for me because in this Bootcamp we were working remotely I could be working on code improvement feedback and then be expected to hold up and attend to my LFA's video call. At first, it was a bit challenging because I had to implement all the feedbacks that were given to me to make my work better. But after a few days, I was able to adapt myself very easily, and I also got to learn how to properly schedule my tasks and also keep good communication with my LFA. Same goes with using Slack and many other tools that are used in the Bootcamp, you must have a quick and sharp mind to always be on point otherwise you would be left out and at the end of the day, you get to suffer the loss.

Another thing that was challenging during the Bootcamp in these last few weeks was being able to work and make sure you don't leave your teammates behind. As I mentioned earlier, on the first day you assigned to a group with other team members that you will be working with for the upcoming days. After receiving your feedback from your LFA, you have to make sure that you implement those feedbacks way ahead of time to continue doing the rest. But let's suppose that you have a teammate that has some issues and you also received feedback from your LFA, it's gonna be hard to do both at the same time right? This was one of my biggest challenges, well I wouldn't say big in that context but big as in it was one of the challenges that I mostly faced. But you need to get adapted to all these things, which means I had to find a way I could make sure that all my teammates are working perfectly and that they are on a good scale. So what I could do is make sure I ask them if they have issues that they would need help for, I would recommend them to watch some tutorials on how to solve some of the problems or even share with them how I was able to go around the same issues they are facing.

Top comments (0)