DEV Community

KKDoddy
KKDoddy

Posted on

My experience in Bootcamp so far

Before talking about my experience the Bootcamp so far, I first want to reflect on the days before starting the Bootcamp, all the challenges and assessments that were given to us have been of a big value and importance to me. I was able to learn lots of things and many other tools and technologies as I had mentioned in my previous blog.

My experience so far has been one of the amazing and most challenging since I started the journey of becoming a software engineer. I was inspired by some friends about Andela and they would tell me how it would be of a big benefit to me. So when the Bootcamp started, I got to realize how focused you have to be to handle the work environment, in other words, you have to get adapted to flexibility, multitasking and many other more that we got to experience as the days kept moving. Today is the fourth day of the Bootcamp in the first week and indeed the work has been hectic, I had to quickly adapt to the change. To become successful in life you must learn how to be very flexible in any situation you find yourself in. Ok, let's try to put it this way, you need to be like a bulldozer. Quoting from the google definition, a bulldozer is known to be one of the most powerful machines, no matter the obstacle on its way, nothing can be able to stop it. So as software developers, that is something that we need to look at and it really helps the way we think and process over things and this is something about Andela, in here your way of thinking and processing will be truly tested, how fast can you think, how fast can you adapt yourself in times of change, are you able to multitask, do you own your own(yoyo)? etc... In my opinion, the benefit of the Bootcamp is that you get to learn all these things ahead of time, in other words, I believe we are being trained by the best to be the best. That's why when I look at people that have passed from the Bootcamp phase, there is a whole lot that they grasp in that short period of time compared to someone who would have been in coding programs that don't really help out and may not have an impact to an individual's learning experience.

I would conclude by saying that my experience has been so far the best and of course yes the most hectic one. I never thought I would spend endless nights working on feedback and other things to do, but all in all, this has been the best experience for me. I would encourage anyone reading this blog that you need to work hard if you want to get to the top, and you cannot do that without working up a sweat. You must learn how to own your own and seek always the desire of becoming the best version of yourself, therefore, you will end up becoming like that bulldozer I mentioned above, no matter the challenge, the stress, the environment, the sleepless nights, etc... it will definitely pay off, you will see the best result at the end of the day. Your success will say it all.

Top comments (0)