DEV Community

Cover image for Running the Editcp DMR codeplug editor binary on a Mac
Konstantin Läufer
Konstantin Läufer

Posted on

Running the Editcp DMR codeplug editor binary on a Mac

I've been looking for a painless way to run Dale Farnworth's excellent Editcp DMR codeplug editor on my Mac, mostly because it's more convenient than additionally pulling out my rarely used Linux laptop.

I vaguely recall trying a few years ago to build it natively on the Mac and this being very complex and ultimately failing. So today I tried a different approach: running Editcp in one of my existing VMware Ubuntu Linux VMs.

In short, I'm delighted to report that this works for me once I installed XQuartz on the Mac and libqt5gui5 on Linux!

My environment:

  • MacOS Sonoma
  • VMware Fusion
  • Ubuntu 22.04 LTS 64-bit VM

Steps for installing and running:

  • brew install xquartz
  • ssh -X ubuntuvm.local
  • sudo apt install libqt5gui5
  • /opt/bin/editcp
  • choose to connect the USB device to Linux

Top comments (0)