DEV Community

Cover image for Cutting Back on Sugar (Bite-size Article)
koshirok096
koshirok096

Posted on

Cutting Back on Sugar (Bite-size Article)

Introduction

Recently, I've become interested in cutting back on sugar. This is because I read an article about the negative effects of excessive sugar consumption on the body and mind. I have also noticed that I myself have recently been frequently consuming coffee, soft drinks like cola, and chocolate bars that are loaded with sugar.

In my case, I often eat or drink these sugary items to refresh myself during work or tasks. However, if excessive sugar intake leads to health issues, I feel it's necessary to replace these with healthier alternatives or take some measures to reduce my sugar consumption.

In this article, I will briefly summarize the impact of sugar consumption on physical and mental health based on my research.

Image description

The Effects of Sugar Consumption on the Human Body

Sugar is a type of carbohydrate that provides the body with immediate energy, making it effective when you need to quickly replenish energy. For example, after exercise or when feeling fatigued, consuming foods or drinks that contain sugar can quickly restore your energy. Additionally, when you consume sugar, "happiness hormones" like serotonin and dopamine are released in the brain, temporarily improving mood and reducing stress. This is why eating sweet foods can make you feel relaxed and uplifted.

Personally, I find myself consuming sweet foods and drinks like coffee with sugar or snacks when my work isn't going well, or when I need a break or feel tired. I believe that humans instinctively turn to sugar consumption to improve their mood.

These are the positive aspects of consuming sugar, but there are also negative aspects to consider.

When you consume sugar, your blood sugar levels can spike rapidly and then drop sharply. This fluctuation in blood sugar levels is known as a "sugar rush" followed by a "sugar crash". After a high blood sugar level, a subsequent drop can cause energy levels to become unstable, leading to irritability and anxiety.

Moreover, the phenomenon of feeling better after eating sweet foods is due to the release of "happiness hormones" like serotonin and dopamine. If this release of dopamine happens too frequently, the brain develops a tolerance to sugar, requiring more sugar to achieve the same pleasure. This can lead to a stronger dependency on sugar, creating a vicious cycle.

Excessive sugar consumption can also lead to various health risks, including weight gain, an increased risk of cavities, skin problems, heart disease, diabetes, and other lifestyle-related diseases.

Image description

Solutions

Moderate sugar intake can help supply energy and improve mood, but excessive consumption can lead to health risks and dependency. By incorporating healthy alternatives, you can maintain balance without relying on sugar.

Replace with Foods that Use Natural Sweeteners

Honey, maple syrup, and agave syrup can be used as substitutes for sugar. These alternatives have a lower GI index than sugar, helping to prevent rapid fluctuations in blood sugar levels.

Consume Fruits

Fruits contain natural sugars and are rich in vitamins and minerals. Instead of eating sweets made with refined sugar, you can enjoy the sweetness in a healthy way by eating fruits as snacks.

Replace with Similar Foods that Don't Use Sugar

If you like cola, for example, you can replace it with sparkling water, which can provide similar satisfaction. Personally, I sometimes crave cola on hot days, but I find that sparkling water gives me the same level of satisfaction without the calories. For those who love chocolate, consider switching to dark chocolate. Dark chocolate has less sugar and is rich in antioxidants. Choosing dark chocolate when you crave something sweet can be a healthier way to enjoy a treat.

These are just a few ideas, but I think they are easy to implement.

Image description

Conclusion

In my case, I’ve noticed that over the past few months, I’ve been frequently consuming sugar-laden iced coffee, energy drinks, gummies, and chocolate from fast-food places. This wasn’t as common for me last year, so stress might be a contributing factor.

While I’m not currently experiencing significant health issues, I don’t see the need to consume excessive amounts of sugar, so I’ve been trying to cut back recently. Instead of imposing strict rules, I believe that consciously reducing my intake to a certain extent is sufficient.

If you find yourself in a similar situation, it might be beneficial to try reducing your sugar intake at your own pace, for example, by having one or two sugar-free days each week.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article today. I hope you stay a healthy lifestyle.

Image description

Top comments (0)