DEV Community

krishna
krishna

Posted on

Designs I like — Swiggy’s popup driver map

Who doesn’t order food online these-days, swiggy is a popular food delivery app in India. After ordering the food, I keep looking at my mobile freq, but why? becoz I am hungry mate… I need my food right away. I need to know where my delivery guy is, i would like to call him if he takes a wrong turn, tell him some shortcuts, know how long it would take for him to handover so that I can eat something else in the meanwhile ;)

Alt Text

I need to do all the above and then more, all the while using other apps. That’s where I find this pop-up map design very much helpful.
This is an awesome design and flexibility from android for letting app developers do this intuitive and helpful design.

Swiggy’s user empathy, in this regard, is better than Uber’s I would say.
Though this is a common design in 2019, Uber for some reason doesn’t have this. One reason would be Uber’s driver arrival is supposed to be quicker and the passenger is expected to be ready while booking the cab. Is it?

In real world, many a times Uber arrivals are easily > 15m and also there are scheduled rides. Consumers play 30s games these days to kill boredom so 15m is way too much for a ask, uber cannot argue about being quicker than swiggy. What do you think can be uber’s reason for not having this feature?

Top comments (0)