DEV Community

Kurtiss Frost
Kurtiss Frost

Posted on

⌨️Akko 3068B (After One Week)

So, I made a post the other day about how I had gotten a new keyboard. Well, it's been one week and my feelings on it haven't changed.

I am still very much in love with this keyboard. It is still a dream to type on and I really enjoy the Jelly Pink switches that are inside of it. Not everything is as good as it seems though. I do have a few complaints about the board:

The keys are super sensitive at times. This isn't so much a fault of the board or switches themselves as it is my own human error. I am not used to the feel of linear switches or mechanical keyboards in general. I'm just going to have to keeping using it until I get used to it. On the bright side though, the key caps feel quality and I can't stop gushing about the Jelly Pinks. One thing I have still not done yet is doing the tape mod or the band aid mod. I heard that both of those things together can make the keyboard sound WAY better. Especially if the switches are properly lubed. I don't have any of the tools for that just yet but, when I do, I am going to make this bad boy sounds amazing!

No print screen button. Again, this is not a fault of the board. I knew when I bought it that there wasn't going to be a print screen button and I was okay with that. BUT, since I use that button a lot when I'm working in Photoshop, I kinda miss the hell out of it. Sure I can use the Akko software to map a new button for it but, the last time I did this, it wound up swapping my W,S,A,& D key to the corresponding arrow keys. Not really sure why that happened. I just had to reset the board's internal memory and everything was fixed. So that was kind of an annoyance at first until I found out about resetting the memory. Once I did that, everything went back to normal. I haven't tried to set the macros back up since then.

Other than those 2 things, I can't really complain about this board. As I have stated many times, the board is a blast to type on and a joy to use. I haven't gotten to do any scripting or anything with it yet. It's mostly just been typing but, I can't imagine that experience is any different. I would also like to point out again that, I don't really have another keyboard to compare this too so I'm just running primarily off of first impressions. If I had to rate this board right now out of 5, I would probably give it 4.5/5. This is a great beginner board and I enjoy it so much. I want to try to get some more linear switches to try out and see if maybe there are some out there that I like more than the Jelly Pinks. I have my eyes on a few different ones but, I'm trying to learn more before I start diving too deep into it.

Well, that's really about it for the day. Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day!

signature

Top comments (0)