DEV Community

Cover image for Shortcut Alternative to Fn for Linux
Laba Subagia
Laba Subagia

Posted on

Shortcut Alternative to Fn for Linux

My laptop keyboard is not working right now, and I use my backup external keyboard that doesn't have Fn Key. I use several alternative shortcuts. You can customize all the Keys based on your preference.

Prerequisite

  • amixer from alsa-utils
  • brightnessctl

Volume Up
Key: Ctrl + Up (keypad)
Command: amixer -q -D pulse sset Master 5%+

Volume Down
Key: Ctrl + Down (keypad)
Command: amixer -q -D pulse sset Master 5%-

Brightness Down
Key: Ctrl + Left (keypad)
Command: brightnessctl set +5%

Brightness Up
Key: Ctrl + Right (keypad)
Command: brightnessctl set 5%-

These shortcuts were tested on LinuxMint Xfce. I will update this article when I make a new shortcut. I hope this is useful for you.

Thank you.

Top comments (0)