DEV Community

Cover image for Starting my journey to the cloud ☁️
Laura
Laura

Posted on

Starting my journey to the cloud ☁️

A bit about me

Hi there 🙌 I want to give you a small intro about me... (promise won't be long).
My name is Laura, I am a Frontend Developer transitioning to DevOps Engineer!
Here, I will be sharing about my journey to the Cloud.
Took me a while to finally decide to start this journey... 2 years and 8 months ago, I was a cabin crew who transitioned to Frontend Developer, learning everything from 0... I must admit, it was a HUGE challenge for me at that time.
I don't have any technical background so it was difficult but exciting to learn new concepts, languages and technologies. Soon I fell in love with tech industry... the community is amazing, everyone is happy to share and help others.
I must admit, this is the first time I enjoy and love what I do everyday.
A while ago, my brother-in-law introduced me to the DevOps Engineer Role... I started to read about it and although I love programming and really enjoy it, I decided to transition to DevOps Engineer this year.
I know it's going to be tough and challenging but I love learning new things and... I'm ready for it!

Where do I start then?

So there's A LOT of free resources online and took me a while to understand where to start, even though my brother-in-law shared with me a list of resources and the order I should go about it, I quickly understood I have to learn strong fundamentals and build knowledge before everything else, so my first step will be 90DaysOfDevOps
I think is a good starting point to get a grasp of concepts and topics.

What's next?

I am planning to share my journey with the community and hopefully inspire others who wish to transition to DevOps or even switch careers.

That's it for today.
Have a great day 🫶

Top comments (0)