DEV Community

Lee Hambley
Lee Hambley

Posted on

Lead Screw Drawings Optimum F40E Mill

I am lucky enough to own an Optimum F40E mill which is a pretty OK piece of hardware for manual milling.

I've been working on a CNC conversion (actually CMC, but close enough) and wanted to change out the poorly made lead screws for hardened ball screws.

One other project online has a walkthrough how to order the 25mm balls crews, however that required modifying the mill casting, and some heavy manufacture of adapters. Also, the person from that post had what appeared to be the standard sized table, I have the long table.

Here are Fusion360 drawings of the X and Y lead screws. I didn't bother to measure which acme profile they were, also I didn't bother to check if they are left or right threads on the retainers on the both ends of Y and the front end of X.

Nominally bearing surfaces are 15mm which should make it possible to buy decent angular contact bearings which will take both the rotational and thrust loads.

Optimum calls this a Bohr-Fräsmaschine (German for "Drill-Millmachine"). If you don't want to deal with Optimum, the handbook PDF is hosted here on imgur as PNGs because it was the easiest way to put this online https://imgur.com/a/ACnzYzE

Image description
(also here in higher resolution https://imgur.com/a/CzrLucX)

Nominally SFU2005 should work fine here. If I order ballscrews, I will update this post with the drawings I use to order with in case you want to undertake your own mill conversion.

Top comments (0)