DEV Community

Leonard Kioi kinyanjui
Leonard Kioi kinyanjui

Posted on

How To Get your PRs merged faster

Every developer wants their code in production as soon as possible. I am assuming you are in a team or at least have someone else to review your code before its merged into staging or production environments. In the past two years I have seen an improvement in the time it takes to get my code merged.

I've had my PRs waiting for review for days on end. Its annoying to say the least. I'll share a few points that helped me get my PRs reviewed and merged a lot faster.

Its a team thing.

As developers we tend to be fiercely independent. This unfortunately does not help deliver products to clients any faster. As a team you need to learn to set aside your individual goals and work on team goals. I used to say things like "I managed to complete all the tasks I set out to do this week" during retro. Now I try to see did we complete all tasks assigned to our team. Changing this mindset is hard and slow but its worth the results.
Agree as a team to be setting aside time to review each other's PRs. Maybe at the start of the day and end of the day. This will leave you with enough time to focus on your tasks.

Have a good relationship with your team mates.

Try and have a good relationship with your team mates. Be interested in them as people. This helps resolve any conflicts when they do arise and we all work better with people we like. Remember at some point you will need help from your team mates and having a good relationship with them allows you to ask for help without things getting weird.

Write clean code.

Write good code. No one likes to read spaghetti code and super huge functions in which you have to spend a lot of time piecing together. If you regularly write bad code, your team mates will avoid your PRs and only check them when its completely unavoidable. This is a skill that can be learnt. There are good books and articles out there for this. A quick google search will guide you.

Top comments (0)