DEV Community

Leonardo Martins
Leonardo Martins

Posted on

Should I use .io or .dev for my first web development portfolio website?

Title is self explanatory but I'm building my first full stack web developer portfolio and I can't decide whether I should use .io or .dev. Maybe it's worth mentioning that .io costs 3x as much as .dev, but I'd pay for it if it makes sense to do so.

Which one is the best (if there is such thing) and why?

Also, .com is already taken so I cant use it.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rizvanadnan profile image
Adnan Rizvan

Don't overthink it, pick whatever you like - at the end of the day it really doesn't matter.

However, if it's gonna help you decide - I'd pick the .dev domain, since it kind of makes a bit more sense for a dev portfolio site.

Collapse
 
leomartinsdev profile image
Leonardo Martins

Thanks for the reply! I'll probably pick .dev :)